Home > Uncategorized > Networking Experience

Networking Experience

Hello World!

Finally, I have my own blog!  I am sure that I have waited too long to do this, but better late than never I guess. 

First of all, I want to thank all the people that made this possible.  First and foremost, my beautiful wife for all her support and understanding (@AmandaJCadwell).  Then of course my dad and business partner for his encouragement (@GarySolidOak).  I would also like to send a shout out to several friends, business partners, and associates including Greg Tibbles, Michael Butler (@MichaelButlerSr), and Ron Skelton (@RonSkelton).  They have been key motivators in my social media endeavors offering encouragement and guidance.  A big thank you also goes to Gary V. – author of “Crush It”.  I just finished this book and it is an excellent source regarding branding, social media, and “Cashing in on your passion”.  I highly recommend it.

In all seriousness, I am excited to continue to grow my opportunities to network and create new relationships as well as improve current relationships.  Our real estate investment company has been in business for over two years now and we really stepped into the world of networking – and I mean it, it’s a world of its own!  We jumped on board and fell in love with networking.  We learned a lot and continue to learn every week.  When we started our business I probably had about 250 contacts in my address book.  Now we have over 1,500 contacts in our database!  And we are continuing to grow that circle of influence.  We love the opportunities we have had to meet new people, learn about new businesses, hear success stories, and pass on referrals to friends, family, and associates.  I don’t know how to explain it.  It is one of those things you need to experience and, personally, I think we should all experience. 

There is definitely a place in the world for competition – it drives our economy.  However, there are also times when cooperation should exist.  At these networking meetings each person has the opportunity to brand themselves, market their company but more importantly, they have the opportunity to learn, share their experiences, ask for guidance, and share information.  It is an awesome feeling to know that you have all these resources.  And if the people at the meeting don’t have an answer, they more than likely know someone that they can refer you to. 

I would like to hear from you.  What experiences have you had with networking?  What works for you?

  1. March 15, 2010 at 11:09 AM

    Networking has helped me understand my husband’s goals for where we are and where we are going. He can come home from networking meeting and tell me all this information he has learned and it goes over my head at times, but when I get the chance to meet these people and hear their stories it becomes a realtity to me, and I know that we can make it happen for ourselves. I also love the idea of networking, because we have benifited from it and this is how we can give back by sharing our stories with other people.
    Just the other night we had a group of friends over at our house and there was a new couple that joined us. We had the opportuinty to share our expierence with real estate and are going to be able to help them start their own company just by sharing contacts and a little about how we have made it happen.

    I am just so proud of Nate, because of him our dreams are going to happen.

    Love you babe,
    Your Wife– Amanda

  2. April 5, 2010 at 10:18 AM

    Hello,

    First I would just like to say I enjoyed your article and welcome to wordpress! I am recently new to blogging as well, started in January of this year, as well as being a new adventurer in the world of networking. I joined a networking company in February in the travel buisness and started my own travel buisness through them. I’ve been enjoying every minute of it. Am I succeeding as well as others? No, I am fairly new with no expierence whatsoever in the buisness field. So I am plugging myself into the trainings and our “travel parties” that we have on a regular day-to-day basis.
    One thing that was rough from the outset, but didn’t bring me down because I believe in it and in myself, was getting my friends to have the same vision as I did. Didn’t work out but I was able to get people on my team just by telling them that I had something they needed to see. I had pictured myself being more successful than I am right now but really it’s just being delayed. Now my friends, family & co-workers are starting to see all the help you get from everyone involved with company along with the tools we get to better ourselves in this buisness. They are starting to see the “big picture” and all it took was just to keep plugging away at it and let the products speak for themselves.

    A couple recent happenings also is helping (an International Convention in Dallas & a photoshoot for an upcoming issue of Success Magazine) with all of us younger individuals in the company known throughout as “The Rat Pack” which is bringing attention to us wherever we reside in the United States.

    Self-promotion and getting yourself out there is something I’ve noticed amongst myself that is getting me closer to my dreams. Reading your few blogs just added solidfication to why I do this and am grateful for the day this came into my life.

    The best of luck to your ever growing buisness!

  3. October 25, 2010 at 9:20 PM

    Congrats to you Nate,

    Love your blog-thanks for the shout out!
    I believe in you man!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

